连接到 Web3:什么是 Web3 浏览器?

Web3 是各种去中心化应用或 DApp 的发源地。它提供金融工具、游戏、社交媒体等资源的去中心化版本。但是,如何访问栖身于 Web3 上的内容呢?这就是加密钱包的用武之地。加密钱包是用于连接到 Web3 的一种基本工具。而且,得益于像 Brave 这样的公司,加密钱包与您每天所用 Web 浏览器的集成程度正变得越来越高。

什么是加密钱包?

加密钱包 是一种可让您存储和保管您的数字资产(加密货币和 NFT)的数字钱包。但它们的功能远不止于存储,它们还允许用户访问 Web3 上的网站和 DApp。从这方面而言,它们更像是数字通行证与钱包的组合体。

在 Web 2.0 上,我们使用用户名与密码登录网站和应用,因此使用钱包连接到网站可能看起来反而很奇怪。但这是有充分理由的:Web3 建立在区块链网络之上,而区块链需要加密货币才能正常运行。加密是 Web3 的基础,因此加密钱包在导航去中心化 Web 方面发挥着至关重要的作用。

同样值得注意的是,构建在 Web3 之上的第一批 DApp 是金融 DApp。这意味着,大多数第一批 Web3 用户进行登录的目的是执行交易、借出或借入加密货币等操作。在这里,加密钱包对于参与同样至关重要。

随着时间的推移,这种登录 Web3 DApp 的新模式成为了常态—这种模式比 Web 2.0 用户名和密码模式更加无缝、更加安全。

在 Web 2.0 上,您的用户名和密码会配对并存储在网站的服务器上。当您登录时,该网站会进行检查以确保用户名和密码匹配。如果用户名和密码匹配,则您将获得访问权限。采用这种模式的问题在于,只有您在每个单独的网站上都具有一个帐户,才能确保您的凭据安全。这也意味着,您必须创建并记住数十个甚至数百个不同的用户名/密码组合。

而且,通常不会发生这种情况。大多数人在不同网站之间重复使用相同的用户名/密码组合,这为坏人破解您的凭据创造了一种简单的方法。而且,电子邮箱、用户名和密码总是在各网站的中心数据库中被盗。

但是,Web3 模式将安全和登录机制直接置于您的加密钱包(只有您可以控制)中。

使用您的加密钱包连接到 Web3

通常,您需要将加密钱包作为插件(或“扩展”)安装到您的浏览器中,或作为应用安装到您的移动设备(Android 和 iOS)上。

例如,MetaMask 是最早推出、也是最受欢迎的加密钱包之一。它可作为 Chrome 和 Firefox(以及其他浏览器)等 Web 浏览器的扩展,并配有适用于 Android 和 iOS 的移动应用。

首次设置 MetaMask 等加密钱包时,系统会要求您输入密码并记下您的“找回词组”(或“种子词组”)。找回词组通常是一个由 12 个(有时是 24 个)词组成的列表。如果您忘记了加密钱包的密码,则找回词组是您唯一可能找回加密钱包及其资产的方法。

每个加密钱包都各自拥有用作其唯一标识符的“地址”。没有两个钱包具有相同的地址。因此,当您访问具有 Web3 功能的网站时,系统会提示您连接您的钱包才能访问该特定网站或 DApp。届时,您钱包的唯一地址会像一个您可以在整个 Web3 上通用的用户名一样发挥作用。

详细了解扩展钱包的优缺点

什么是 Web3 浏览器?

Web3 浏览器的确是名副其实:能够连接到 Web3 的 Web 浏览器。Web3 浏览器将始终具有某种形式的加密钱包功能。

虽然将基于扩展的加密钱包(如 MetaMask)添加到任何浏览器轻而易举,但创建这些扩展的虚假(或“仿冒”)版本并诱骗人们使用它们同样也并非难事。如果您下载的是仿冒版本,您可能会为坏人创造机会来访问您的帐户并窃取您的资产。而这反过来又会影响 Web3 提供安全保护。

为了解决这个问题,Brave 等浏览器通过在浏览器中构建原生加密钱包来使内容变得更易访问(且更安全)。

为了体现区别,我们考虑以 Google Chrome 为例。Google Chrome 并非原生 Web3 浏览器,但您可以轻松地在 Chrome 上安装 MetaMask 扩展。同时,Brave 钱包Opera 加密浏览器 等选项是指内置的浏览器原生加密钱包。无需使用扩展。

但这不仅仅关乎钱包。Web3 浏览器也可能比传统的 Web 2.0 浏览器更注重隐私和匿名性。例如,Brave 拥有拦截跟踪器、指纹识别和网络钓鱼内置防火墙 + VPN使用 Tor 的查询参数过滤和私有窗口等高级功能 等数百项隐私和安全功能。

使用浏览器连接到 Web3

连接到 Web3 上的 DApp 的唯一方式是使用加密钱包。您可以自行决定该加密钱包是 Chrome 等浏览器上的扩展,还是 Brave 等隐私浏览器上的内置钱包。
Brave(和 Brave 钱包)很容易上手使用。立即下载,从旧浏览器中导入设置,登录,并摆脱对大型科技公司的依赖。只需 60 秒即可完成切换。

已经准备好使用 Brave 来探索全新的互联网模式?

Brave 由一群注重隐私、以性能为导向的网络开拓者构建而成。请协助我们打造良好的网络浏览环境。

close

即将完成...

您距离体验线上最佳隐私仅 60 秒之遥了

如果下载尚未开始, .

  1. 下载 Brave

    单击弹出窗口中的“保存”,等待下载完成。

    等待下载完成(您可能需要在弹出的窗口中单击“保存”)。

  2. 运行安装程序

    单击屏幕右上角的下载文件,然后根据提示安装 Brave。

    单击下载的文件,然后根据提示安装 Brave。

    单击屏幕左下角的已下载文件,然后根据提示安装 Brave。

    单击屏幕右上角的下载文件,然后根据提示安装 Brave。

    单击下载的文件,然后根据提示安装 Brave。

  3. 导入设置

    设置期间,从旧浏览器中导入书签、扩展程序和密码。

需要帮助?

获得更好的隐私。时时刻刻!

下载 Brave 手机版,确保移动隐私。

Download QR code
单击此文件以安装 Brave Brave logo
单击此文件以安装 Brave Brave logo
单击此文件以安装 Brave Brave logo

Connecting to Web3: What's a Web3 browser?

Web3 is home to all kinds of decentralized apps, or DApps. There are decentralized versions of financial tools, games, social media, and more. But how do you access things that live on Web3? That’s where crypto wallets come in. They’re a fundamental tool for connecting to Web3. And, thanks to companies like Brave, they’re becoming more integrated with the Web browsers you use everyday.

What’s a crypto wallet?

A crypto wallet is a digital wallet that lets you store and maintain custody over your digital assets (cryptocurrencies and NFTs). But they’re much more than storage—they also grant users access to websites and DApps on Web3. In that regard, they’re more like a digital passport and wallet in one.

In Web 2.0, we log in to websites and apps with usernames and passwords, so it may seem odd to think of connecting to a website with a wallet instead. But there’s good reason for it: Web3 is built on blockchain networks, and blockchain requires cryptocurrency to function. And because crypto is so fundamental to Web3, crypto wallets play a crucial role in navigating the decentralized web.

It’s also worth noting that the very first DApps built on Web3 were financial ones. That means most of the first Web3 users were logging in to do things like trade, lend, or borrow crypto. Here, too, crypto wallets were vital to participate.

Over time, this new model of logging in to Web3 DApps became the norm—it’s more seamless and secure than the Web 2.0 model of usernames and passwords.

On Web 2.0, your username and password are paired together and stored on that website’s servers. When you log in, that site checks to make sure the username and password match up. If they do, you’re granted access. The problem with this model is that it’s up to each individual website you have an account with to keep your credentials safe. It also means you have to create—and remember—dozens or even hundreds of different username / password combinations.

And, usually, this doesn’t happen. Most people reuse the same username / password combos from site to site, which creates an easy way for bad actors to hack your stuff. And email addresses, usernames, and passwords get stolen from websites’ central databases all the time.

The Web3 model, however, places the security and login mechanisms directly within your crypto wallet—something that you alone have control over.

  • Learn more about how Web3 is related to blockchain and crypto.
  • Learn more about DApps and what’s being built on Web3.

Connecting to Web3 with your crypto wallet

Typically, you’ll install a crypto wallet as a plugin (or “extension”) to your browser, or as an app on your mobile device. MetaMask, for example, is one of the first, and most popular, crypto wallets. It’s available as an extension for Web browsers like Chrome and Firefox (and others), and has mobile apps for Android and iOS.

When first setting up a crypto wallet like MetaMask, you’ll be asked to come up with a password, and also write down your “recovery phrase” (or “seed phrase”). This is typically a list of 12 (or sometimes 24) words. If you forget the password to your crypto wallet, the recovery phrase is the only possible way to recover the wallet and its assets.

Each crypto wallet has its own “address” that serves as a unique identifier. No two wallets have the same address. So when you visit a site with Web3 capabilities, you’ll be prompted to connect your wallet in order to access that particular site or DApp. At that point, your wallet’s unique address works like a username that you can use universally across all of Web3.

Learn more about the pros and cons of extension wallets.

What’s a Web3 browser?

Web3 browsers are exactly what they sound like: Web browsers that are capable of connecting to Web3. A Web3 browser will always have some form of crypto wallet capability.

While it’s easy to add extension-based crypto wallets like MetaMask to any browser, it’s also easy to create fake (or “spoofed”) versions of these extensions, and trick people into using them. If you download a spoofed version, you could create opportunities for bad actors to gain access to your account and steal your assets. And this, in turn, can negate the security protections of Web3.

To combat this, browsers like Brave are making things even more accessible (and safe) by building a crypto wallet natively in the browser.

To illustrate the difference, consider Google Chrome. This isn’t natively a Web3 browser, but you can easily install the MetaMask extension on Chrome. Meanwhile options like Brave Wallet and Opera’s Crypto Browser mean built-in, browser-native crypto wallets. No extensions required.

But it isn’t just about the wallet. A Web3 browser may also be more geared toward privacy and anonymity than a traditional Web 2.0 browser. Brave, for example, has hundreds of privacy and security features like blocking trackers, fingerprinting, and phishing; a built-in firewall + VPN; and advanced features like query parameter filtering and private windows with Tor.

Connecting to Web3 with a browser

The only way to connect to DApps on Web3 is with a crypto wallet. And it’s up to you to decide whether that crypto wallet is an extension on a browser like Chrome, or a built-in wallet on a privacy browser like Brave.
It’s easy to get started with Brave (and Brave Wallet). Just download now, import settings from your old browser, get online, and ditch Big Tech. It only takes 60 seconds to switch.

Related articles

Brave Blog

Check out the Brave blog: the front page for news on ad blocking, features, performance, privacy, and Basic Attention Token related announcements.

Read more articles →

Ready to Brave the new internet?

Brave is built by a team of privacy focused, performance oriented pioneers of the web. Help us fix browsing together.

close
close

Almost there…

You’re just 60 seconds away from the best privacy online

If your download didn’t start automatically, .

  1. Download Brave

    Click “Save” in the window that pops up, and wait for the download to complete.

    Wait for the download to complete (you may need to click “Save” in a window that pops up).

  2. Run the installer

    Click the downloaded file at the bottom left of your screen, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

    Click the downloaded file at the top right of your screen, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

    Click the downloaded file, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

  3. Import settings

    During setup, import bookmarks, extensions, & passwords from your old browser.

Need help?

Get better privacy. Everywhere!

Download Brave mobile for privacy on the go.

Download QR code
Brave logo Click this file to install Brave
Click this file to install Brave Brave logo