Brave reviews

See what users, creators, and the press are saying about Brave

Brave is the fastest, most private browser on desktop and mobile. It’s better on Android and iOS, Mac and Windows, even Linux. But don’t take our word for it. Check out what press, creators, and—most importantly—our users say about Brave.

Google Play Store (Android) reviews

4.7-star average rating from 1.7m total ratings, 480k reviews, and 160m total downloads.

“I cannot believe how clean, efficient, stable, and privacy-oriented this browser is. …no ads, no cookie requests, nothing. Just clean, pure internet. I love the “Brave shields UP!” icon next to the address bar.”

5-stars, July 13, 2023

“The ad block is better than with multiple extensions on chrome or Firefox on pc and there is no option like it as far as I know on mobile. Nothing gets through, even the annoying things that pop up when you click the page that used to be unavoidable. I wish I switched a lot sooner and couldn’t recommend it more highly for just the built in ad block alone.”

5-stars, June 17, 2023

“Privacy matters and they have it covered.”

5-stars, June 17, 2023

Visit the Google Play Store to read more reviews, and download Brave for Android.


Apple App Store (iOS) reviews

4.8-star average rating from 800k total ratings, 26k reviews, and 22.5m total downloads.

Brave Browser is KING

“It’s amazing no ads, and awesome Brave News. And did I mention…No ads…”

5-stars, July 5, 2023

Awesome

“Best app ever. Super safe, no ads.”

5-stars, July 7, 2023

Faster and better on Safari than iOS

“It loads websites much faster and also opens sites that Safari seems to load very slowly. It works well, blocks ads, and (the) privacy hub shows at a glance the trackers and ads (that were blocked)!”

5-stars, July 6, 2023

Visit the Apple App Store to read more reviews, and download Brave for iOS.


Microsoft Windows Store reviews

4.6-star average rating from 4.5k total ratings, and 820k total downloads.

U deserve 5 Star for this incredible work

“Removes Unwanted Ads and makes visiting websites smoother. Great work by the Brave Browser team.”

5-stars, December 2023

Best app in the galaxy

“I love this app. It’s the best, and it should be promoted.”

5-stars, December 2023

The way we should experience the web

“Best ad-blocking I’ve ever experienced! …this browser catches what (the others) don’t! Also I love the private “Chain” sync rather than storing all your content under a third party user account.”

5-stars, July 2023

Excellent

“Exceptional, best browser I’ve ever used, in the few tests I did (it) blocks all ads, congratulations to the devs!”

5-stars, June 14, 2023

Perfect for avoiding invasive advertising

“Brave is a browser that has an integrated ad and cookie blocker, the truth is that you notice the difference when you watch videos on YouTube consecutively and no ads appear.”

5-stars, May 29, 2023

Visit the Windows Store to read more reviews, and download Brave for Windows.


Product Hunt

2021 recipient of a Product Hunt Golden Kitty award

Brave browser is one of the best applications ever

“…characterized by speed and flexibility, modern and easy to use. I recommend everyone to try it and use it in their work.”

5-stars, December 2023

Brave Private Browser is my privacy superhero!

“It shields your online activities with its robust ad and tracker blocking, keeping your data safe. The speed is remarkable, and it’s user-friendly.”

5-stars, September 2023

A real private browser

“Save my time, not my data.”

5-stars, February 2023

Visit Brave’s page on Product Hunt to read more reviews.


What the creators say

“Brave takes the cake. It’s open-source, easy to use, safe, and has built-in Tor.”

Sumsub, March 2023

Watch Sumsub’s video

“Brave blocks things like ads, fingerprinting and trackers by default so you don’t have to do any extra setup for privacy.”

Shannon Morse, March 2023

Watch Shannon’s video


Brave in the news

The New York Times

“Brave is…so aggressive about blocking trackers that in the process, it almost always blocks ads entirely. My favorite websites loaded flawlessly, and I enjoyed the clean look of ad-free sites, along with the flexibility of opting in to see ads whenever I felt like it.”

Read the New York Times review

Forbes

“Brave is a browser that is built to be privacy-safe. It’s also built to return 70% of the value of your attention back to you.”

Read the Forbes review

CNET

“Out of the box, Brave browser blocks trackers and third-party cookies that monitor your activity as you travel across the web.”

Read the CNET review

Search Engine Journal

“Brave uses its own LLMs to assess the ranked webpages and offer a summarization. This function is called the Summarizer, which users can opt out of if they wish… Brave Search is perfect for users who want a search engine that respects privacy, is easy to use, and is useful.”

Read the Search Engine Journal review

ZDNET

“The best overall browser for privacy. Brave focuses on privacy and security as a default, and the addition of optional onion routing is a nice touch.”

Read the ZDNET review

Cybernews

“Brave Browser is a compelling choice for those seeking a harmonious balance between privacy and modern web economics. At its core, Brave is engineered with a staunch commitment to confidentiality, evident in its robust ad-blocking capabilities and anti-tracking measures… With limited AI chat capabilities, the browser’s VPN service and Brave Search further cement its position as a privacy-focused yet feature-rich alternative to mainstream browsers.”

Read the Cybernews review

Android Police

“Just because Google Chrome is your browser of choice doesn’t mean Google has to be your go-to option. While Brave Search isn’t among [Google’s] default search engines, you can still easily make it the search engine of your choice. Independent indexing makes Brave Search a viable Google alternative if you’re worried about your privacy and how much information is censored before it even gets to you.”

Read the Android Police review

Softonic

“Brave Browser is considered one of the most private browsers for iPhone and iPad. It’s a great choice for those seeking maximum security and privacy on their iOS devices.”

Read the Softonic review

Android Authority

“Brave browser has quickly become part of my normal workflow. I have been using it for some sites/tasks every day and the reasons for not migrating to it fully are, well, non-existent.”

Read the Android Authority review


Love for Brave’s features

PC World

“I could have tinkered with Chrome and Firefox (my main two browsers) to nuke these annoyances, but an alternative browser first caught my eye. Brave blocks cookie consent notices by default. All I needed to do was download an installer, run it, and fire it up. It works perfectly, and I’ve been enjoying the feature for months now.”

Read PC World’s writeup on Cookie Consent Blocking

Search Engine Journal

“(Brave Search) now boasts complete independence from other search engines, a remarkable achievement in the world of search.”

Read Search Engine Journal’s review of Brave Search

Forgetful browsing

Lifewire

“Safari’s Private Browsing and Chrome’s Incognito mode do the opposite of what many people think they do. Brave’s new Forgetful Browsing feature fixes that.”

Read Lifewire’s review of Forgetful Browsing

close

Almost there…

You’re just 60 seconds away from the best privacy online

If your download didn’t start automatically, .

  1. Download Brave

    Click “Save” in the window that pops up, and wait for the download to complete.

    Wait for the download to complete (you may need to click “Save” in a window that pops up).

  2. Run the installer

    Click the downloaded file at the top right of your screen, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

    Click the downloaded file, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

    Click the downloaded file at the bottom left of your screen, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

    Click the downloaded file at the top right of your screen, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

    Click the downloaded file, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

  3. Import settings

    During setup, import bookmarks, extensions, & passwords from your old browser.

Need help?

Get better privacy. Everywhere!

Download Brave mobile for privacy on the go.

Download QR code
Click this file to install Brave Brave logo
Click this file to install Brave Brave logo
Click this file to install Brave Brave logo