Facebook 广告替代方案

Facebook 和 Google 等当今最大的广告平台均由用户数据提供支持。这些数据由人们在网上发布、购买、观看和搜索的内容组成。然后,它们被打包到广告商购买的具有高度针对性的广告空间中,为出售它的科技公司创造数十亿美元的利润。但如今数字广告领域正在发生一些剧烈变化,这些变化在一定程度上阻碍了这种模式的发展。越来越多的用户正在采取措施保护其隐私和数据,科技公司正在加大关注力度,而政府正在制定政策来控制数据盗窃。

随着重大变化迫在眉睫,许多广告商正在寻求 Facebook 广告替代方案。在这里,我们将深入探讨 Facebook 广告所面临的问题,以及广告商在制定广告策略时应考虑的一些替代方案。

Facebook:全球排名第二的广告平台

Facebook 已成为第二受欢迎的在线广告空间(仅次于 Google),这要归功于其庞大的用户群(月活跃用户为 29 亿,整个应用套件的用户为 35 亿)以及从这些用户那里收集的海量数据。广告商为获取这些用户数据而纷纷涌向 Facebook,其中包括:

  • 线上活动(点赞、分享、评论、互动、搜索、好友、群组等)
  • 感兴趣的主题(由线上活动决定)
  • 通过跨站点跟踪器和 cookie 收集的线下活动
  • Messenger 应用中的消息内容
  • 使用 Facebook 登录凭据的应用和网站
  • 位置数据(包括主要位置和位置历史记录)
  • 付款历史记录(针对通过 Facebook 或 Marketplace 进行的购买)
  • 照片和视频上传
  • 其他网站选择与 Facebook 分享的 Facebook 线下活动(即反向报告给 Facebook 的其他在线购买)

对于数字营销人员而言,这些信息(据说)价值连城。2021 年,Facebook 的广告收入为 1150 亿美元—预计在可预见的未来这一数字仍会增加。但增长并不像您可能想象的那么稳健—这一增长主要由广告价格上涨所推动。

Facebook 广告所面临的问题

Facebook 上发布的广告,成本越来越高昂,但效果却越来越不如人意。

2022 年,所有行业的 Facebook 广告平均点击率 (CTR) 为 0.9%(低于 2020 年的约 1.3%)。虽然点击率在下降,但广告成本却在飙升。2021 年,Facebook 的平均每千次展示费用 (CPM) 增长了 89%,达到约 11 美元。就 2022 年而言,到目前为止,平均每千次展示费用约 15 美元。

(这种趋势也不仅仅局限于 Facebook:截至 2021 年 7 月,Google 和 YouTube 的每千次展示费用同比增长了 108%,抖音的每千次展示费用同比增长了 92%,而 Snapchat 的每千次展示费用同比增长了 64%。)

超过 2 亿家企业使用 Facebook 的广告工具来吸引客户—每个人都在力争受到同一受众的关注。越来越多的企业从事电子商务,因此对 Facebook 广告的需求量正在超过广告空间的供应量,继而导致广告成本上升。更糟糕的是,随着(而且一定程度上是因为)Facebook 的用户群日渐缩小,成本在不断攀升。2022 年第二季度,Facebook 有史以来首次丧失了 200 万月活跃用户。

简而言之,Facebook 广告成本越来越高昂,因为需求量(寻求进行广告宣传的企业数量)正在增长,而库存量(目标用户数量)却在减少。但这并不是影响 Facebook 广告的全部因素:整个领域都在发生重大变化。

数字广告领域的变化

Facebook 广告模式和普通 Web 2.0 广告面临多项新挑战,包括:

  • 消费者采取更多措施保护自己的隐私
  • 支持用户隐私的政府行动
  • 大型科技公司之间具有竞争性的数据政策

也许阻止 Facebook 广告持续占据主导地位的最大障碍是消费者的不信任。Web 2.0 的特点是采用一种公司优先于员工的数据模式,这使得大型科技公司能够以牺牲个人为代价来收集和出售用户数据。Facebook 是参与这一模式的主要大型科技公司之一,在用户隐私和数据方面有着糟糕的记录。从情绪操纵试验大范围的数据盗窃 到臭名昭著的 Cambridge Analytica 案,Facebook 一再辜负其用户的信任。因此,越来越多的用户正在采取措施保护其隐私和数据。许多人选择退出 Facebook 的跟踪机制,限制他们共享的数据及其使用方式,或者完全退出该平台。

不受限制地收集数据的时代已成为历史:各地的政府都在介入以强制实施新的在线隐私法律。一系列针对大型科技公司的反垄断法案正在改变大型科技公司的运作方式。例如:2019 年,Facebook 被美国 FTC 处以 50 亿美元的罚款 并被迫对其隐私政策进行全面整改。通过欧洲 GDPR 和加利福尼亚州 CCPA 等立法,政府正在帮助打击大型科技公司未经检查地收集(和使用)我们的数据。

最后,为了应对来自用户和监管机构的压力,大型科技公司正在进行自我监管、调整可以跟踪和不可跟踪的内容并确认如何(或能否)共享这些数据。例如,Apple 最近的软件更新让用户可以更好地控制跟踪,并能够关闭跨站点跟踪。(而且当出现提示时,95% 的用户会选择退出。)大型科技公司的许多新数据政策限制了数据共享,从而在先前可以无缝通信的应用之间创建了“围墙花园”。综上所述,您会发现 Facebook 的底线受到了真真切切的冲击:Apple 2021 年的隐私政策更新使 Facebook 花费了超过 100 亿美元的广告收入

即使是世界排名第一的广告平台暨最恶劣的数据盗窃犯罪者之一的 Google 也在采取一些有限的措施来消除世界排名第一的浏览器 Chrome 中的第三方数据跟踪。

但有三点值得注意:

  • 大型科技公司并非在自愿做出这些改变。
  • 他们正在做的不过是最起码的工作,让他们看起来像是在满足用户对隐私的需求。
  • 最后,他们最关注的是他们的底线。与此同时,他们正在进行一些有限的隐私改进,也在发明新的、更复杂的跟踪方式(例如:从基于 cookie 的跟踪转向浏览器级或设备级指纹识别)。虽然他们的方法发生了改变,但他们的理念依然如故。

可以肯定地说,大型科技公司只有在盈利并其满足用户需求时才会尊重隐私。与此同时,整个广告技术领域正在发生变化。为了生存,广告商必须从根本上改变他们的做法,因为广告平台必定不会有所改变。

Facebook 广告的最佳替代方案

让我们来探索一些与 Facebook 具有相似模式(Web 2.0 模式)的广告平台。这些平台虽然仍易受到与 Facebook 相同的许多问题的影响,但情况要稍好一些。

Twitter

Twitter 的月活跃用户数接近 5 亿—明显低于 Facebook,但这个数字还在增长。它拥有高度参与的受众。Twitter 上推高广告成本的竞争也比 Facebook 少(因为 Twitter 上的广告商数量尚未达到饱和)。

Twitter 为各品牌提供多种广告选项:图片广告、视频广告、轮播广告、文字广告和即时广告(这些广告汇集了各种推文,所有推文的总字符数超过了 Twitter 的字符数限制)。Twitter 的每千次展示费用取决于活动动态,但估计平均约为 6.50 美元。包含 URL 的广告的点击率可以高达 2%,是您对 Facebook 上同类广告期望的点击率的两倍多,并且每千次展示费用明显更便宜。

唯一需要注意的是,您需要展示简洁、简单而有效的消息以符合 Twitter 广告不超过 280 个字符的规定—这是 Facebook 广告商不必担心的一大障碍。

请注意,Twitter 在收集用户数据和提供有针对性的广告空间时使用了类似的策略。Twitter 因数据管理不善而遭受了罚款和诉讼,并且容易面临与 Facebook 相同类型的数据监管挑战。

LinkedIn

LinkedIn(归 Microsoft 所有)拥有约 9000 万月活跃用户,这使其成为一个相对较小的社交媒体平台。但其用户群由可支配收入较高的商务专业人士以及企业本身的页面组成。企业页面适合 B2B 广告—使受众及其意图与大多数其他广告平台大不相同。

LinkedIn 还设有各种广告单元供各品牌利用:赞助内容、赞助消息、文字广告、动态广告和潜在客户生成表。广告商会发现 LinkedIn 的每千次展示费用远高于其他平台—估计平均超过 30 美元。然而,这可能是有充分理由的,因为 LinkedIn 的专业人群平均支出是其他平台用户的两倍。考虑到 B2B 营销的潜力,广告支出似乎也不那么高,尽管其成本在总体上远高于 B2C 广告。LinkedIn 的点击率也因行业和广告类型而有很大差异。

LinkedIn 确实提供了相对详细的跟踪和分析,还使品牌能够对准各个用户群体并监控用户如何与他们的广告互动。但是,这种类型的数据收集仍易受到 Facebook 所面临的风险和上述监管限制的影响。

抖音

刚刚进军该领域的抖音,迅速受到了年轻受众(目前主要是 13-30 岁的年轻人)的青睐。2021 年第四季度,其用户群约为 12 亿月活跃用户,预计这一数字在 2022 年将跃升至 18 亿。其引人入胜的视频形式令用户欲罢不能。三分之一安装了抖音的用户每天都会打开它,且平均每天花上 1.5 小时的时间使用它。

由于广告形式多种多样,抖音上某些类型备受关注的广告的平均点击率为 1.5% 到 16%。抖音的平均每千次展示费用约为 10 美元,比大多数平台都便宜。

由于其初来乍到,抖音上的广告商数量尚未达到饱和,但那些领先于社交媒体潮流的广告商除外。其 2021 年的广告收入约为 40 亿美元,预计 2022 年该收入将增长两倍,达到 120 亿美元。

抖音也因其激进的默认数据收集政策而受到过审查,包括收集消息内容、精确设备位置数据、联系人列表、日历、硬盘(甚至是外部硬盘)内容等信息。Web 2.0 的监管经济模式令人不寒而栗,而抖音似乎正在将这种数据收集模式推向极致。它也是唯一一个归政府实体部分所有的大型社交媒体或广告平台,这引发了人们对其独立性的质疑—中国政府在其母公司字节跳动中拥有 1% 的股份,并在字节跳动某主要子公司的董事会中占有一席之地。

Web3 广告替代方案

现在,让我们看看一些 Web3 广告替代方案,它们为以隐私为中心的领域提供更多面向未来的广告。

当谈到在 Web3 上进行营销和广告宣传时,各品牌需要重新思考自身的陈旧策略。第三方数据并非广泛可用,用户对如何使用其数据具有真正的发言权。大多数 Web3 不需要集成广告,因为用户需要付费才能使用这些平台(例如,他们支付少量费用来发送或交易加密货币,或者在去中心化游戏中购买 NFT)。但也有广告平台开始将合乎道德的广告模式纳入注重隐私的 Web3 领域。

与为了出售广告空间而从用户那里收集每一比特数据的 Web 2.0 广告平台相比,Web3 广告平台只关乎信任和同意。具体关乎对用户诚实,并允许用户自行决定其将允许哪些类型的跟踪、cookie 和其他事项以及如何使用其数据。

但在深入研究之前,我们必须了解两种“Web3”广告平台之间的重要区别:

  • 利用 Web3 技术(如区块链)投放广告的平台
  • 投放广告时优先考虑用户隐私和数据自主权的平台(即无论其是否使用 Web3 的底层技术,在意识形态上都与 Web3 保持一致,)

第一种广告平台通常凭借其技术优势 选择通过区块链技术投放广告。通过整合区块链,这种广告平台可以简化业务、降低管理成本、提高透明度,且不经由中介结构直接与出版商和广告商联系。但其不一定会采取措施保护用户隐私,而这正是许多用户转向 Web3 的原因。从某种意义上说,这种平台试图将 Web 2.0 广告模式的逻辑运用到 Web3 中。这种平台通常会就广告商收入而进行优化,并做出许多与 Web 2.0 广告商相同的让步。因此,这种平台或许并不能成功吸引用户,或者并不能让企业获得同等的投资回报率。

相反,第二种 Web3 广告平台较少涉及使用 Web3 技术来扩展现有的商业模式,而是更多地涉及创建一种全新的模式。这种平台关乎让广告商能够接触到以隐私为中心的 Web3 受众,同时仍然尊重他们的隐私。对于即将进军 Web3 领域的广告商而言,这种平台才是真正有发展前景的平台。

Brave 广告

Brave 非常适合 Web3 广告平台,原因在于其广告模式将隐私放在首位,并按用户的参与度对用户进行公平补偿。通过注重隐私的 Brave 浏览器,用户可以选择其想要查看的广告类型(如有)。当用户选择接收广告时,他们会获得一部分广告收入作为对其关注的补偿。Brave 所打造的具有变革性的新型广告生态系统赋予用户真正的自主权,并尊重他们的隐私,而无论他们选择接收广告还是不接收广告。Brave 响应用户对数据自主权的诉求,仅在五年内就积累了 6000 万月活跃用户。

Brave 的广告单元包括浏览器新标签中的整页赞助图片、Brave 新闻提要中的图片和文本卡以及推送通知。而且由于您必须选择查看其中一些广告单元,Brave 用户的参与度明显更高,并且更有可能点击广告。例如,推送通知的每千次展示费用为 20 美元,相应的点击率高达 8%。

而且 Brave 用户与众不同。他们是注重隐私的一线技术用户。他们了解(并使用)Web3、区块链、加密货币和 NFT。而且,在其他任何地方基本上都无法联系上他们:他们使用广告拦截器,远离付费电视和大多数社交媒体。

Brave 广告让各品牌有机会接触精通技术的早期采用者,他们是处于要求隐私优先型互联网的前沿并具有高度识别能力的用户。

2022 年及以后的广告业:步入多元化时代

尽管数字广告领域瞬息万变,但各种事物也在不断变化。Web 浏览器仍依赖于不同类型的 cookie,而 Web 2.0 社交媒体平台依旧超越了可用作 Web3 替代方案的功能。Web3 只是尚未获得支持广告技术行业所需的那种大规模采用。

这意味着,在 2022 年寻求最佳策略的广告商应实现其广告方式的多元化:使用 Web 2.0 平台中可用的数据,同时为这些数据源枯竭的那一天做好准备。广告商应寻找更好、更安全、性能更高的 Web 2.0 替代方案,并开始在 Web3 平台上投放广告,以便为注重隐私的未来做好准备。

随着我们继续向 Web3 未来转变,了解用户的隐私关切也变得日益重要—包括他们对广告拦截器的使用、他们选择不接收广告以及他们要求各品牌按照他们的条款进行互动。

幸运的是,只需点击一下即可与 Web3 受众建立联系。欢迎访问 brave.com/brave-ads/ 开始使用。

已经准备好使用 Brave 来探索全新的互联网模式?

Brave 由一群注重隐私、以性能为导向的网络开拓者构建而成。请协助我们打造良好的网络浏览环境。

close
close

即将完成...

您距离体验线上最佳隐私仅 60 秒之遥了

如果下载尚未开始, .

  1. 下载 Brave

    单击弹出窗口中的“保存”,等待下载完成。

    等待下载完成(您可能需要在弹出的窗口中单击“保存”)。

  2. 运行安装程序

    单击屏幕左下角的已下载文件,然后根据提示安装 Brave。

    单击屏幕右上角的下载文件,然后根据提示安装 Brave。

    单击下载的文件,然后根据提示安装 Brave。

  3. 导入设置

    设置期间,从旧浏览器中导入书签、扩展程序和密码。

需要帮助?

获得更好的隐私。时时刻刻!

下载 Brave 手机版,确保移动隐私。

Download QR code
Brave logo 单击此文件以安装 Brave
单击此文件以安装 Brave Brave logo

Facebook ads alternatives

Today’s biggest ad platforms, like Facebook and Google, are powered by user data. This data is made up of things like what people post, purchase, watch, and search for online. Then it’s packaged into highly targeted ad space that advertisers buy, generating billions in profit for the tech companies selling it. But now some drastic changes are happening in the digital ad landscape that present obstacles to this model. More users are taking steps to protect their privacy and data, tech companies are paying attention, and governments are enacting policies to rein in data theft.

With major changes looming, many advertisers are looking for alternatives to Facebook ads. Here we’ll dive into the problems Facebook ads are facing, and some alternatives that advertisers should consider when building out ad strategies.

Facebook: the #2 ad platform in the world

Facebook has become the second most popular online ad space (second only to Google), thanks to its immense user base (2.9 billion MAU, 3.5 billion across their whole suite of apps), and the mountains of data it collects from those users. And advertisers flock to Facebook because of this user data, which includes things like:

  • On-site activity (likes, shares, comments, interactions, searches, friends, groups, etc.)
  • Topics of interest (determined by on-site activity)
  • Off-site activity gathered via cross-site trackers and cookies
  • The content of messages in the Messenger app
  • Apps and sites using Facebook login
  • Location data (including primary location and location history)
  • Payment history (for purchases via Facebook or Marketplace)
  • Photo and video uploads
  • Off-Facebook activity that other sites opt to share with Facebook (i.e. other online purchases that get reported back to Facebook)

For digital marketers, this info is (supposedly) a goldmine. In 2021, Facebook made $115 billion in advertising revenue—a figure that is still projected to increase for the foreseeable future. But the growth isn’t as healthy as you might think—it’s mainly driven by increasing ad prices.

Trouble with Facebook advertising

Advertising on Facebook is becoming more expensive, and less effective.

In 2022, the average click-through rate (CTR) across all industries for Facebook ads is 0.9% (down from about 1.3% in 2020). And while the CTR is decreasing, the cost of advertising is skyrocketing. In 2021, Facebook’s average cost per thousand impressions (CPM) increased by 89% to roughly $11. So far in 2022, the average CPM is nearly $15.

(This trend isn’t isolated to Facebook, either: as of July 2021, Google and YouTube’s CPM increased by 108% year-over-year, TikTok’s by 92%, and Snapchat’s by 64%.)

More than 200 million businesses use Facebook’s ad tools to reach customers—and everyone’s competing for attention from the same audience. Because more businesses are engaging in e-commerce, the demand for Facebook ads is oustripping the supply of ad space, leading to rising ad costs. To make things worse, the cost is increasing just as (and partly because) Facebook’s user base is declining. In Q2 2022, Facebook lost two million MAU for the first time in its history.

Simply put, Facebook ads are getting more expensive because the demand (businesses looking to advertise) is growing, but the inventory (number of users to target) is shrinking. But that’s not all that’s affecting Facebook ads: there are major changes happening for the entire landscape.

Changes to the digital ad landscape

The Facebook ads model, and Web 2.0 advertising in general, face multiple new challenges, including:

  • Consumers taking more steps to protect their privacy
  • Government action in support of user privacy
  • Competitive data policies between Big Tech companies

Perhaps the biggest obstacle to the continued dominance of Facebook ads is consumer mistrust. Web 2.0 is characterized by a data model that places corporations before people, enabling Big Tech to collect and sell user data at the expense of individuals. Facebook is one of the key Big Tech players in this model, and has a terrible track record with user privacy and data. From mood manipulation experiments and widespread data theft, to the infamous Cambridge Analytica case, Facebook has repeatedly abused the trust of its users. As a result, more and more users are taking steps to protect their privacy…and their data. Many are opting out of Facebook’s tracking mechanisms, restricting what data they share and how it can be used, or leaving the platform altogether.

And the days of unrestricted data collection are long gone: governments everywhere are stepping in to enforce new online privacy laws. A slew of antitrust bills aimed at Big Tech companies are changing the way Big Tech operates. In 2019, for example, Facebook was slapped with a $5 billion fine from the American FTC and forced to make sweeping reforms to its privacy policies. And with legislation like Europe’s GDPR and California’s CCPA, governments are helping in the fight against Big Tech’s unchecked collection (and use) of our data.

Lastly, in response to pressure from users and regulators, Big Tech companies are self-regulating, and adjusting what can and cannot be tracked, and how (or if) that data can be shared. Apple’s recent software updates, for example, are giving users more control over tracking, and the ability to turn off cross-site tracking. (And, when prompted, 95% of users do opt out.) Many of Big Tech’s new data policies limit data sharing, creating “walled gardens” between apps where there was previously seamless communication. Add it all up, and you see a real hit to Facebook’s bottom line: Apple’s 2021 privacy policy updates cost Facebook more than $10 billion in ad revenue.

Even Google—the world’s number one ad platform, and one of the worst data-theft offenders—is taking some limited steps toward eliminating third-party data tracking in Chrome, the world’s number one browser.

But three important notes:

  • Big Tech isn’t making these changes willingly.
  • They’re doing the bare minimum to look like they’re addressing user demands of privacy.
  • In the end, they’re most concerned with their bottom lines. At the same time they’re making some limited privacy improvements, they’re inventing new and more complex ways of tracking (case in point: the move away from cookie-based tracking, and toward browser- or device-level fingerprinting). While their methods change, their philosophy doesn’t.

It’s safe to say Big Tech will respect privacy only when it’s profitable and meets the demands of their users. Meanwhile the entire ad tech landscape is shifting. To survive, advertisers must radically change their practices, because the ad platforms certainly won’t.

Best alternatives to Facebook ads

Let’s explore some ad platforms that have a similar model to Facebook (the Web 2.0 model). These platforms, while still susceptible to many of the same problems as Facebook, are faring a little better.

Twitter

Twitter has nearly 500 million MAU—significantly less than Facebook, but a number that’s growing. It has a highly engaged audience. And there’s also less competition driving ad costs up on Twitter than Facebook (because it’s not as saturated with advertisers).

Twitter offers brands a variety of advertising options: image ads, video ads, carousel ads, text ads, and moment ads (which are a collection of tweets that, together, exceed Twitter’s character limit). Twitter’s CPM is dependent on campaign dynamics, but is estimated to be approximately $6.50 on average. CTR can reach as high as 2% for ads that include a URL, more than twice what you’d expect to find on Facebook, and with a significantly cheaper CPM.

The only caveat is that you’ll need to have concise, simple, and effective messaging to fit within Twitter’s 280-character limit for ads—an obstacle Facebook advertisers don’t have to worry about.

Note that Twitter uses similar tactics when it comes to collecting user data and offering targeted ad space. Twitter has been hit with its own fines and lawsuits for data mismanagement, and is susceptible to the same types of data regulation challenges as Facebook.

LinkedIn

LinkedIn (which is owned by Microsoft) has about 90 million MAU, which makes it a relatively small social media platform. But its user base is made up of business professionals with higher incomes to spend, as well as pages for businesses themselves. Business pages are suited for B2B advertising—making the audience and its intent quite different from most other ad platforms.

LinkedIn also offers brands a variety of ad units to take advantage of: sponsored content, sponsored messaging, text ads, dynamic ads, and lead gen forms. Advertisers will find that LinkedIn’s CPM is far higher than other platforms—estimated to be over $30 on average. This may be for good reason, however, as LinkedIn’s professional demographic, on average, spends twice as much as users from other platforms. The ad spend also might not seem so high when you consider its potential for B2B marketing, which costs far more than B2C ads across the board. LinkedIn’s CTR also varies widely based on industry and ad type.

LinkedIn does provide relatively detailed tracking and analytics, also allowing brands to target individual groups of users and monitor how users interact with their ads. Though, once again, this type of data collection is susceptible to the risks and same regulatory limits that Facebook faces.

TikTok

New to the scene, TikTok gained rapid popularity among a younger audience (now predominantly aged 13–30). Its user base was about 1.2 billion MAU in Q4 2021, a number expected to jump to 1.8 billion in 2022. And its engaging video format has users hooked. One third of people who’ve installed TikTok open it everyday and spend, on average, 1.5 hours a day using it.

With a wide variety of ad formats, TikTok’s average CTR ranges from 1.5% to 16% for certain types of high-profile ads. TikTok’s CPM rates average about $10, which is cheaper than most platforms.

Because of its newness, TikTok is less saturated with advertisers, except for those that are ahead of the social media curve. Its ad revenue in 2021 was about $4 billion, and it’s expecting to quadruple that revenue to $12 billion in 2022.

TikTok has also come under scrutiny for its aggressive default data collection policies, including collecting info like the contents of messages, precise device location data, contact lists, calendars, and the contents of hard drives (even external ones). The surveillance economy of Web 2.0 is creepy, and TikTok seems to be pushing this model of data collection to the extreme. It’s also the only major social media or ads platform partly owned by a government entity, which raises questions about its independence—the Chinese government owns a 1% stake in TikTok’s parent company, ByteDance, and holds a seat on the board of directors for one of ByteDance’s main subsidiaries.

Web3 advertising alternatives

Now let’s look at some Web3 ad alternatives that offer more future-proof advertising for a privacy-centric world.

When it comes to marketing and advertising on Web3, brands need to rethink their old strategies. Third-party data isn’t widely available, and users have a real say in how their data gets used. And most of Web3 doesn’t need to integrate ads, because users pay to use the platforms (e.g. they pay a small fee to send or trade crypto, or to buy an NFT in a decentralized game). But there are ad platforms that are beginning to incorporate ethical advertising models into the privacy-conscious world of Web3.

In contrast to Web 2.0 ad platforms that scrape every bit of data from users in order to sell ad space, Web3 advertising is all about trust and consent. It’s about being honest with users, and allowing them to make their own decisions about what types of tracking, cookies, and other things they’ll allow, and how their data can be used.

But before diving in, there’s an important distinction to make between two types of “Web3” ad platforms:

  • Those that leverage Web3 technology (like blockchain) to serve ads
  • Those that serve ads while prioritizing user privacy and data autonomy (i.e. they’re ideologically aligned with Web3, whether or not they use its underlying technology)

The first type often chooses to serve ads via blockchain technology for its technological benefits. By incorporating blockchain, they can streamline their business, reduce overhead costs, increase transparency, and connect publishers and advertisers directly without intermediaries. But they don’t necessarily take steps to protect user privacy, which is what many users are switching to Web3 for. In a sense, these types of platforms attempt to bring the logic of the Web 2.0 ad model to Web3. They most often optimize for advertiser revenue, and make a lot of the same concessions as Web 2.0 advertisers. For this reason, they may not be as successful with users, or show the same ROI for businesses.

Conversely, the second category of Web3 ad platforms is less about using the technology of Web3 to expand on an existing business model, and more about creating an entirely new model. It’s about giving advertisers access to the privacy-focused audiences of Web3, while still respecting their privacy. This is what’s really promising to advertisers entering the Web3 space.

Brave Ads

Brave is uniquely suited for Web3 advertising because its ad model puts privacy first, and fairly compensates users for their participation. Through the privacy-focused Brave Browser, users can choose which types of ads they want to see, if any. And when users do opt in, they receive a portion of the ad revenue as compensation for their attention. Brave’s revolutionary new ad ecosystem gives users real autonomy, and respects their privacy whether they opt in or out of receiving ads. Answering users’ call for data autonomy, Brave has amassed 60 million MAU in only five years.

Brave’s ad units vary from full-page sponsored images in new tabs in the browser, image and text cards in the Brave News feed, and push notifications. And because you must opt in to view some of these ad units, Brave users are significantly more engaged and more likely to click through on ads. Push notifications, for example, have a $20 CPM, with an exceptional 8% CTR to match.

And Brave users are unique. They’re frontline tech users who care about privacy. They understand (and use) Web3, blockchain, crypto, and NFTs. And they’re largely unreachable anywhere else: They use ad blockers, and they stray away from paid television and most social media.

Brave Ads give brands a chance to reach tech savvy early adopters, the highly discerning users at the vanguard of demanding a privacy-first Internet.

Advertising in 2022 and beyond: a time to diversify

Although the digital landscape for ads is changing rapidly, things are still in flux. Web browsers still rely on different kinds of cookies, and Web 2.0 social media platforms are still leaps and bounds beyond what’s available as Web3 alternatives. Web3 just doesn’t have the kind of mass adoption that’s needed to support the ad tech industry. Yet.

This means that advertisers looking for optimal strategies in 2022 should diversify their approach to advertising: Use the data that’s available to in Web 2.0 platforms, while also preparing for the day those data sources dry up. Advertisers should look for better, safer, higher-performing Web 2.0 alternatives, and also start advertising on Web3 platforms to prepare for the privacy-focused future.

As we continue to shift towards a Web3 future, it will become increasingly important to understand users’ privacy concerns—their use of ad blockers, opting out of ads, and their demands that brands interact on their terms.

Thankfully, connecting with Web3 audiences is just a click away. Visit brave.com/brave-ads/ to get started.

Ready to Brave the new internet?

Brave is built by a team of privacy focused, performance oriented pioneers of the web. Help us fix browsing together.

close
close

Almost there…

You’re just 60 seconds away from the best privacy online

If your download didn’t start automatically, .

  1. Download Brave

    Click “Save” in the window that pops up, and wait for the download to complete.

    Wait for the download to complete (you may need to click “Save” in a window that pops up).

  2. Run the installer

    Click the downloaded file at the bottom left of your screen, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

    Click the downloaded file at the top right of your screen, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

    Click the downloaded file, and follow the instructions to install Brave.

  3. Import settings

    During setup, import bookmarks, extensions, & passwords from your old browser.

Need help?

Get better privacy. Everywhere!

Download Brave mobile for privacy on the go.

Download QR code
Brave logo Click this file to install Brave
Click this file to install Brave Brave logo